Open Carrier Foils Criminals

6-19-2013
Long night tonight…. here’s the short version.

So, tonight about 7:30 I called the Bell County Sheriff’s dept….. told them I am going to be walking through some residential areas and main road areas that I don’t normally OC on…. She asked me “what was I up too” and my reply was, ” well there’s been all these buglers and dope heads around so I figured I would venture out beyond my roads close to my house and I was and carry my shotgun along with me”…. she was like “OK whatever”……………………..

I took my 12yr old son and my “shotgun” and took off……. 

I approached a house that is known for its “druggies” and their was about 7 of em out playing music/hanging out…. I just walked on by….they shouted “hey/hey/hey…heads up” off to the side not directed to me…….then I noticed something……

There were 2 guys that had not seen me yet, they had a rope slung up over the overhead power lines, all of a sudden they saw me and dropped what I knew to be climbing gear on the ground and walked off suspiciously…. I saw that there were abnormal wires hanging from the junction box above and figured they were stealing copper……

I moseyed on by and called the sheriffs dept. I took a right about 1 block down and hung out on the corner waiting for the cops to show up…. the whole time the guys were screwin’ with the power lines not knowing I had stopped…… funny the dispatcher knew who I was when I said where I was standing and I informed them I was carrying a shotgun….lol… she said, “Oh oh OK ahhhh I know who you are.” (BTW she said they had gotten zero 911 calls on me that night walking.)

So… I’m on the phone with dispatch and she tells me that the sheriffs made contact…. I’m like.. Ahh.. no I’m standing here and its dark but no car has pulled in here…. She says ” oh yes, the deputy is their right now”….. I told her….. No he is not and she swore he was…..

My buddy lived real close there and I called him up…. asked him to come get me and lets check this out…. He brings his NV….and a few extra things (JIC) …..We recon and there, no cops the on-scene. 

So….We drive in his car down the road a bit and see these other guys standing around all pissed off looking and stop and find out the sheriffs had went to their house… 1/2 mile up-stream from the location… OMG…….

I called back to the dispatch and told them…. that they went to wrong location….and asked to have the officer call me. He called and I explained exactly where to go. ( I thought I made it clear the first time) We went back down the road past the area and walked back on foot to the outskirts of the house and waited for the Sheriff to come…. 

So while we were waiting we did some NV recon for ?15mins? waiting ….. the bad guys were just out partying…. smoking/drinking……screwing around with stuff…… then all-a-sudden, they leave… before the cops get there……. My homeboy sprints down to his house and gets in his car and takes off after them to try and get the plate number…….

I hang out for 5-10mins playing with the NV and a Sheriff shows up…. spotlights the power pole… then takes off back the other direction…. I was like … OK?…. then 5 mins later my homeboy shows up all excited…. “Hey we got em…. they’re all down at the gas station!!! buncha cops got ’em all hemmed up!!!! Go go go take my car they are waiting for you to ID them!!! Go now!”….

Yep it was them…. They admitted to trying to pirate cable TV from the pole…..Driver had a suspended license and a warrant…… and the two other had outstanding warrants…. plus they all got charged with attempted theft of services….. 

OH BTW…. I was chit-chatting with the Sargent on-scene…. told him about all this OC stuff we’re doing…. and about last Thursday in Belton….. he said, “Ohhh yea! I seen y’all at the HEB!…. COOL DEAL! I’m glad y’all are out there!……”

The end of my exciting day….. Today was also my wife’s B-day…. would of rather been home earlier…lol

Image

Leave a Reply

